loader image

Accredited Training Institutions

Southern Philippines Medical Center


Southern Philippines Medical Center (SPMC) is a premier medical facility that cater to constituents all over Mindanao. It is DOH and PHIC accredited and classified as tertiary level general hospital with teaching. In 2019, upon the approval of RA 11326, it has become the largest hospital in the country with up to 1500 bed capacity. It features up to date medical facilities that were acquired thru the years in response to the need of Southern Mindanao Region for quality health care services.
The SPMC Section of Urology was established in 1998 through the Philippine Urology Manpower Program (PUMP) with Dr. Oscar Escudero, Jr. as the founding chairman. In 2005, Dr. Herman Sorongon, Jr. took over as chairman followed by Dr. Victor Espino in 2012. In 2018, the section branched out from the Department of Surgery to become the Department of Urology.
The residency training program is accredited by the Philippine Board of Urology. Residency training consists of a total of six (6) years: 2 years in general surgery and 4 years in urology. The department is directly supervised by board certified urologists utilizing modern facilities and equipment for open, endourologic and minimally invasive procedures.

The year 2022 marked the progressive return of the hospital protocols to the pre-pandemic period. Although there are still isolated cases of COVID-19 patients admitted in the hospital, the accommodation of more non-COVID related cases were already made possible. Therefore, it is a challenge on how to attend to the surge in the number of patients – a number of them are previous patients who have been lost to follow-up due to the pandemic.

We are hopeful that the year 2023 will bring us more efficiency in our urologic care as we upgrade our equipment as we look forward to the opening of the Mindanao Kidney and Transplant Institute in the near future. We are optimistic for a better continuing medical education as we have resumed our face-to-face consultations and conferences.


“We, a team of highly competent medical specialists, commit to deliver compassionate urologic care to all patients with the highest ethical standards.”


“To be a premier Urology treatment and training center in the Philippines by 2027.”


Chairman: Michael Jonathan R. Latayan, MD, DPBU, FPUA, FPCS

Training Officer: Jay-R R. Enojo, MD, DPBU, FPUA, FPSUO

Research Coordinator: Manuel S. Belisario, MD, DPBU, FPUA, FPCS

Consultant Staff:

Active Victor D. Espino, MD, DPBU, FPUA, FPCS

Lawrence Amir M. Lu, MD, DPBU, FPUA

Herman L. Sorongon, Jr., MD, DPBU, FPUA, FPCS

Volunteer Luis Antonio R. Balajadia, MD, DPBU, FPUA

Julius D. Dela Victoria, MD, DPBU, FPUA, FPCS

Resident Staff: Feje F. Alogon, MD – Uro VI

Bryan B. Cagampang, MD – Uro VI

Jera Dean A. Travilla, MD – Uro V

Emman Carlo R. Evangelista, MD – Uro IV

Porferio P. Serrano III, MD – Uro IV

Ronnie Yves E. Barreda, MD – Uro III

Audeen Jola G. Salise, MD – Uro III

Adrianne Isabel M. Del Fierro, MD – Uro II

Carl Aldrich R. Chu-Santos, MD – Uro I

Herman Arvin G. Sorongon III, MD – Uro I

Emmanuel Arian P. Barcenas, MD – Uro I

Mark Anthony C. Benignos, MD2002
Stephen B. Sy, MD2004
Adonis A. Latayan, MD2006
Richard L. Lobaton, MD2010
Muhammad Sidik M. Dimalen, MD2011
Luis Antonio R. Balajadia, MD, DPBU, FPUA2018
Al-Widzrin M. Jupli, MD, DPBU, FPUA2019
Lei Carlo L. Macalisang, MD, DPBU, FPUA2019
Virna Noreena R. Seno, MD, DPBU2021
Ralph Adriel T. Balan, MD, DPBU2021
Roel Justin B. Reoyan, MD2022
Mike Anthony D. Tillo, MD2022
Conrad Earl M. Cabahug, MD2022